Chịkọdịlị Emelụmadụ

Chịkọdịlị Emelụmadụ

Share Chịkọdịlị Emelụmadụ with friends

A Night In with

Chịkọdịlị Emelụmadụ

16 February 2023 – 2 March 2023

Join author Chịkọdịlị Emelụmadụ to celebrate the publication of their debut novel, Dazzling.

Soon you will become the thing all other beasts fear.

Treasure and her mother lost everything when Treasure’s daddy died. Haggling for scraps in the market, Treasure meets a spirit who promises to bring her father back - but she has to do something for him first.

Ozoemena has an itch in the middle of her back that can’t be scratched. An itch that speaks to her patrilineal destiny, to defend her people by becoming a leopard. Her father impressed upon her what an honour this was before he vanished, but it’s one she couldn’t want less.

But as the two girls reckon with their burgeoning wildness and the legacy of their fathers’ decisions, Ozoemena’s fellow students at her new boarding school start to vanish. Treasure and Ozoemena will face terrible choices as each must ask herself: in a world that always says ‘no’ to women, what must two young girls sacrifice to get what is theirs?

Chịkọdịlị was the winner of the Curtis Brown First Novel Prize in 2019, her work has also been shortlisted for the Shirley Jackson Awards, a Nommo Award and the Caine Prize for African Fiction. Dazzling is an unmissable, transportive debut perfect for fans of Chigozie Obioma, Abi Daré and Deepa Anappara. This special virtual event will delve into all things magical realism, Chịkọdịlị’s writing process and the inspirations for the novel. Don’t miss this event!

"Bursting with magic, bright and visceral."  Jennifer Saint

"A feast of shimmering, beautiful prose."  Chika Unigwe

Dates, Venues & Times
  • 16 February 2023
  • 18:30
  • Online Stream

– WE RECOMMEND –

Click here

A Night In with

Freya Cox

11 Jan 2023

Join star of Great British Bake Off Freya Cox in conversation with Felicity Cloake to celebrate the publication of Simply Vegan Baking.Vegan baking needn...
Click here

A Night In with

Carolyn Hays

19 Jan 2023

Join author Carolyn Hays to celebrate the publication of her new book A Girlhood: A Letter to My Transgender Daughter.When Carolyn Hays’s fourth child made clear to the famil...
Click here

A Night In with

Eleanor Shearer

20 Jan 2023

Join author Eleanor Shearer in conversation with Arthur Torrington to celebrate the publication of her debut novel River Sing Me Home.We whisper the names of the ones we ...
Click here

New Year, New Novel

26 Jan 2023

Spend an illuminating evening with two publishing powerhouses and unlock the tools to make your writing shine, stand out, and catch the attention of an agent.It’s time to make your writing resolutions for the new year. Set yourself ...
Click here

A Night In with

Jyoti Patel

02 Feb 2023

Join winner of the 2021 #Merky Books New Writers’ Prize Jyoti Patel in conversation with Mohsin Zaidi to celebrate the publication of her debut novel The Things That We Los...
Click here

A Night In with

Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀

09 Feb 2023

Join Women’s Prize shortlisted author of Stay With Me, Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, to celebrate the publication of her new book A Spell of Good Things.Eniola is tall for his age, ...
Click here

Celebrating 'Victory City' by

Salman Rushdie

09 Feb 2023

Be part of an unmissable evening celebrating the literary genius of Salman Rushdie. Two global stars of the book world, Margaret Atwood and Neil Gaiman, chaired by Erica Wagner, will be joining f...
Click here

A Night In with

Maxine Mei-Fei Chung

10 Feb 2023

Join psychoanalytic psychotherapist, clinical supervisor and writer Maxine Mei-Fung Chung to celebrate the publication of her new book What Women Want.Through the profound and moving stories o...
Click here

A Night In with

Janice Hallett

13 Feb 2023

Join best selling author of The Appeal and The Twyford Code, Janice Hallett, to celebrate the publication of her new novel The Mysterious Case of The Alperton Angels.
Click here

A Night In with

Fern Brady

14 Feb 2023

Join writer and performer Fern Brady to celebrate the publication of her debut memoir, Strong Female Character. If you’ve ever been on a night out where you got blackout drunk and have laughed the...